Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Closely Observed Trains by Bohumil Hrabal

closely-observed-trainsWhat a curious little book. I got Closely Observed Trains by Bohumil Hrabal a couple of Christmases ago, from my parents, after I added to my Amazon wishlist. And I added it because I read a glowing blog review… though I now don’t know which blog. Anyway – after a couple of years, it found its way – all 91 pages of it – to the top of my reading pile, and I read it without coming to any fixed conclusions what I think of it.

The novel was published in Czech in 1965 and was translated by Edith Pargeter – yes, that Edith Pargeter, of Cadfael fame. The main action concerns Miloš Hrma, a young apprentice on the railway, whose family is apparently notorious in the local area for being malingerers and shirkers. He is slightly paranoid about being thought this way himself, because it is the final days of the war and he isn’t fighting.

The war is very much taking place in and around the railway station A plane is shot down; a destroyed railway carriage stays in one of the sidings as a stark reminder of the fragility of life around them. It appears more humorously, too, albeit darkly humorously – at the outbreak of war (the narrator recalls), the pigeon-fancying stationmaster orders all his Nuremberg pigeons to be killed. At one point Miloš is briefly kidnapped by two SS guards, though that section rather confused me – but it did have some great writing about how he couldn’t believe anybody that handsome could be wicked. It’s an old trope, but Hrabal does it well. And we are thrown into the midst of war, while still remembering that the ordinary must continue.

I ran out on to the platform. There was another close-surveillance transport running through on the main line. All the fellows sunning themselves there on the tanks were young boys, just like myself, some of them even younger; one lot was tossing a green ball about in the sun, and on another tank they were singing: Ich hab mein Herz in Heidelberg verloren… but when they passed by that strafed train on the fifth line they froze, struck motionless. As each wagon came into the vicinity of those shattered coaches, consigned to the workshops for repair, every person aboard it froze, even the cooks stopped peeling potatoes, though these soldiers must surely have seen worse things at home, shattered town,s houses, heaps of dead. But just here, and now, and this, they hadn’t been expecting…

For so short a work, Closely Observed Trains is almost dizzyingly episodic. We get that brief kidnap, we get scandal among the station staff, we even get Miloš nervously trying to end his virginity. It’s all a bit bewildering, because the tone is somehow still gentle, observational, slow. Hrabal combines the fast-paced with the reflective in a skilled and unusual fashion – and I think it confuses me because I couldn’t quite work out what I was reading. Which is the mark of an exciting author, of course!

I would certainly read more by Hrabal, and I’d be intrigued to know if his other books are similar. And I’d also like to re-read this one someday – slower, drawing in more of that writing style, and wondering quite how he did it…

9 comments on “Closely Observed Trains by Bohumil Hrabal

  1. kaggsysbookishramblings
    January 25, 2017

    I read and reviewed this one a while back and liked it, though like you I was uncertain quite what the book was saying. The mixture of comedy and tragedy is a bit unsettling, and it is *very* sad. But his writing style is excellent as you say.

  2. Cathy746books
    January 25, 2017

    It sounds like there is a lot packed into 91 pages – certainly sounds intriguing.

  3. Pingback: Closely Observed Trains by Bohumil Hrabal – Stuck in a Book

  4. MarinaSofia
    January 27, 2017

    I haven’t read him at all, but am very keen to, after hearing glowing reports also about Too Loud a Solitude.

  5. sylviemarieheroux
    January 27, 2017

    I read this a long time ago, on a Czech author reading binge after going to the Czech Republic in 1998. I just found it at the back of a doubled-up bookshelf. I preferred I Served The King of England. And there is also a movie based on that one.

  6. Peter Harvey
    January 27, 2017

    This may be obvious, but you didn’t mention that there’s a related film, Closely Watched Trains, which won an Academy Award and is in the Criterion collection.

  7. Claire (The Captive Reader)
    January 28, 2017

    I have to admit my usual interest in all things Czech fades a bit when it comes to Hrabal but I should probably give him another shot one day. On a vaguely related note, I picked up The Coast of Bohemia by Edith Pargeter recently and it is all about how she became fascinated by Czechoslovakia (eventually leading to this sort of translation work). I’ve only dipped in and out so far but am really looking forward to reading it properly.

  8. 1streading
    January 29, 2017

    I read a number of Hrabal’s books years ago including this. I really need to find the time to revisit him.
    Penguin Classics are releasing this soon as Closely Watched Trains, but it’s the same translation.

  9. veronika
    February 26, 2017

    I served the King of England is a great book. But then, I might be biased, being a Czech myself. I haven’t read Closely Observed Trains probably because we were forced to learn about it. But will give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
