Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Group Post:Reading Resolutions

gothenburg-archipelago This time of year, many people make resolutions. You know the regular ones-go on a diet or to the gym, eat healthier, learn a new language, tackle whatever big project one has been putting off, that sort of thing. Being Book Foxes, we are a little different. Oh, we make resolutions, but they aren’t the usual ones, they are about reading, of course. In between shoving those boxes of holiday trimmings back into the closets, some of the Foxes shared their goals for this year.
Moira spoke up first “I suspect my reading resolution for 2017 will be very similar to many other people’s … to read MORE; to turn off the computer/TV (although I watch very little TV these days) and pick up a book instead. At the moment I tend to read only last thing at night, in bed. I read until my eyelids start to droop, which can be for 15 minutes or over an hour, depending on how tired I am and/or how gripping the book is. For 2017 I need to convince myself that time spent sitting in a chair reading is not time wasted nor time I could be spending doing something more productive. The Protestant work ethic, instilled in me by example from childhood is in many ways a fine thing, but a by-product of it is an almost total inability to just sit and read, because I feel I’m not achieving anything concrete. It’s a piece of programming I fully intend to break.
I’m also determined to give Sir Walter Scott another chance. I struggled with ‘Ivanhoe’ and ‘Woodstock’ when much younger and found them very heavy going … but I know that classics don’t become classics for no reason, and I’m hopeful that the older, wiser me is going to be pleasantly surprised. I’m going to take them in order – so ‘Waverley’ will be the first out of the blocks …”
Hilary chimed in, “My reading resolution is to be bolder this year – I’ve coasted through 2016, spending most of my reading time on tried and trusted authors and subjects, reading lots of non-fiction. I’ve surprised myself recently by becoming completely engrossed in the world of Elena Ferrante’s novels, so I know my novel-reading mojo is lurking around somewhere, just waiting to be lured back again. So, a new novelist a month, in 2017 – wish me luck! And please keep the recommendations coming.”
Kate stated “My reading resolution is required of me, because I’m teaching and co-teaching a lot of courses for the first half of this year, so I need to read the novels I’ll be teaching my students, and those taught them by my colleagues, so I can be knowledgeable about them. This means George Gissing and George Orwell, as well as Alan Warner and Irving Welsh. Gulp.
But for fun, I’m going to continue reading science fiction translated into English from other languages.”
Jackie said “I would like to read less Anglo authors and more global writers. I read a few every year, but am hoping to read books of more varied origins this year. One of them is Salman Rushdie, who I’ve been meaning to read for years, as I enjoy him on talk shows, so I really need to try one of his books.”
So there you have the Foxes’ goals, but we’d like to ask our readers what are your reading resolutions?

Photo of Gothenburg Archipelago(Sweden) from Mikael Tigerström Flickr stream, used courtesy of Creative Commons License.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
