Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

The Eyre Affair (or: dealing with disappointment)

the-eyre-affairI suspect many of us have those guilt-inducing books on our shelves – you know the ones; those that we’ve had for years and years, intending to read. It’s worse when the book in question is one that you’ve (ahem) had borrowed from a friend for nearly a decade. Sorry, Phu, I will return The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde to you – but I’m afraid I might not be able to return it with the glowing enthusiasm that I’d predicted.

There was no particularly good reason that The Eyre Affair hadn’t made it to the top of my reading list. I’d been dimly aware of it ever since publication in 2001, and been firmly intending to read it since around 2007 – but it took its arrival on our book group rota for me finally to pick it up. And… reader, I was disappointed.

I was so excited at the premise of The Eyre Affair – or what the blurb told me the premise was. I almost don’t want to mention it, but I suppose the publishers have already put it out into the world. This is what they claim is the plot:

Acheron Hades has been kidnapping characters from works of fiction and holding them to ransom. Jane Eyre is gone. Missing.

That sounds like quite a fun idea, doesn’t it? Well, that is not what The Eyre Affair is about. It doesn’t happen until almost 300 pages of this 370 page novel are over – indeed, Jane Eyre doesn’t appear until around then. The only reason this is in the title and blurb is because far fewer people have read Martin Chuzzlewit, which crops up much more.

Let’s take a step or two back. The novel is set in an alternative reality 1985 (the year I was born, y’all) where the Crimean War has been fought for over a hundred years and – gloriously – the mainstays of society are culture and literature, rather than sport or reality TV or whatever. There are jukeboxes on street corners that will recite Shakespeare; there are huge black markets in literature, and people go and see Richard III over and over, with audience participation much like that for The Rocky Horror Show.

Into this fray is Thursday Next – our oddly-named heroine who works for SpecOps 27 as a Literary Detective. Acheron Hades is believed to be behind the stealing of a valuable manuscript of Martin Chuzzlewit – and possibly also influencing other existing copies by making edits to the world of it. Hades is dangerous, evil, and cruel. He also has supernatural powers (including taking on the forms of other people), as Thursday discovers in a violent contretemps with him. He is, indeed, such a caricature of evil that I found him rather difficult to read – partly because it’s unpleasant, and mostly because it’s uninteresting.

This was my problem with The Eyre Affair, ultimately. I just found it dull. There are so many wonderful details (my favourites coming from her crackpot inventor uncle, Mycroft, whose creations include a notepad that translates through the carbon copy sheets below – but mistranslates on the lower ones if you don’t press hard enough). Fforde’s imagination is beautiful, and he obviously loves literature – it was great fun to spot the influences and details he incorporates, from character names to stray allusions, and I’m sure there were plenty of others I didn’t spot.

But… well, the actual plot and descriptions just dragged for me. Delightful details do not a novel make. The Jane Eyre bit – where Thursday must try to rescue her – comes so late that it feels almost like a different novel. Indeed, I did begin to wonder if these were originally the first two in the ongoing series, spliced together before publication. (Incidentally, in this universe Jane Eyre ends before the final section, and many characters note that it’s a shame Jane and Rochester don’t end up together. My views on this have been mentioned on my blog before – i.e. Rochester is a horrific prospect, and she’d be far better off without either St. John Rivers or Mr Rochester.)

So – it was a case of disappointment for me. So many wonderful ingredients – and yet such a mediocre book, in my eyes. I certainly shan’t be bothering with any of the others in the series.

But I know that The Eyre Affair has devoted fans – so, please, do launch counter arguments in the comments!

11 comments on “The Eyre Affair (or: dealing with disappointment)

  1. Pingback: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – Stuck in a Book

  2. barcud
    October 28, 2016

    I enjoyed the review though. I was going to get the book until I read that you found it boring!

  3. Sue Gedge
    October 28, 2016

    Oh, goodness, Simon, my response to The Eyre Affair couldn’t be more different from yours! I loved it, and, indeed, I loved the next three books in the ‘Thursday Next’ series (Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots and Something Rotten.) I liked the playfulness, the wit, the surreal inventions, the mix of sci-fi, literary allusions and speculative fiction….I used to be an enthusuastic participant on Jasper Fforde’s website, too, and once won a competition there–my prize being a set of postcards of the Wonders of Swindon! HOWEVER…after the first 4 Thursday Next books, something did seem to pall, and I stopped reading his books with the same enthusiasm…

    On a different note, I adore Rochester….but that’s another issue….

  4. I had a somewhat different experience, because I didn’t expect to like the book at all going in, and then found it more fun than I expected — those details charmed me enough for one book. After the second one, though, the novelty wore off and I’m done with Thursday Next. Too bad, because there was some potential there.

  5. Karen K.
    October 28, 2016

    I read the first few books about 10 years ago, but one of the more recent books has been languishing on my shelves for several years. I finally got round to reading it a couple of months ago and I agree with Sue, it really dragged. I think Fforde had a really good idea and it’s getting worn out, like a joke that’s been told too many time. There are some really good bits about literature in the books, though — there’s an especially funny bit about the mysterious piano in Jane Austen’s Emma which I found hilarious at the time. I don’t know if I’d find it so funny after a reread, though.

  6. Trisha Day
    October 28, 2016

    loved the book BECAUSE of all those details that made it so much fun. I didn’t read it expecting it to be great literature, but rather simply because it was so much fun!!

  7. camilledefleurville
    October 29, 2016

    I do not wonder that I like a book you dislike as I dislike most of the books you like and the “events” you create like your 1924 etc clubs.
    That’s life!

  8. Simon T
    October 29, 2016

    Thanks for your comments, all – I’m so glad this book has been a success for many people! It takes all sorts, doesn’t it?

    ‘Camille’… I know you don’t like collaborative events between bloggers but you can take it as read now. No need to spoil other people’s fun and literary engagement.

  9. Sarah Cave
    October 29, 2016

    Loved it and frequently re-read it, but agree with Sue Gedge, the later ones don’t achieve quite the same high standards.

  10. Rhoda Baxter
    October 31, 2016

    I’m sorry to hear that you found in boring. Personally, I loved the first few books in the series (as others have noted, the jokes wore thin after that). I haven’t read them in years. You’ve prompted me to go dig them out.

    The Nursery Crimes series was different to the Thursday Next books. I found them funny, but not as engaging. That said, the page about porridge on Jasper Fforde’s website is hilarious.

  11. Jenny @ Reading the End
    October 31, 2016

    I felt the saaaaaaaame. I was bored and then at the end I was annoyed because I didn’t think Fforde had done a good job of capturing Jane Eyre OR Rochester as characters. I cannot get on board with your views on Mr. Rochester, I am afraid. I get what you are saying but I am won over by how much they enjoy each other’s jokes! It’s a match made in heaven!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2016 by in Entries by Simon, Fiction: 21st Century and tagged , .

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
