Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

This is My Life …

booksI have spent my entire life surrounded by books. I can’t remember a time when there weren’t books in every room of the house – in the kitchen, on the landing, in the hallway and the vestibule – every spare piece of wall, every flat surface has always been clothed in books.

They weren’t just there for decoration; they were books that were read, re-read and consulted, a part of the fabric of my life and as natural and normal to me as the radio on the kitchen windowsill or the toy cupboard in my bedroom.

My mother and father were born early in the last century, to Edwardian parents. They came through a devastating global depression and a world war and learned through hard  experience not to waste anything. They were the make-do-and-mend generation who never threw anything away ‘because it might come in useful’. They were into recycling before it even had a name. Clothes were patched and darned, collars and cuffs turned, torn sheets made usable by turning edges to middle, and my mum was a past master at producing healthy meals from leftovers.

That philosophy extended to the books: once bought, forever on the shelves. A book was for life, not just for Christmas.

Fast forward to the present, and I find myself alone in a vast barn of a house with thousands of books. It’s only sensible to downsize – to sell to a young couple with a growing family and move myself into a smaller, more affordable and more manageable property. The only problem with that, of course, is the books. They quite literally need a room of their own.

Sensible Me says they have to go. Sentimental Me says I can’t just give my childhood away.

Sentimental Me shuts up when I contact a local removal company for a quote and they come up with a figure that sounds more like a small African nation’s debt to the International Monetary Fund.

And so it began: the Great Book Cull.

My first pass down the shelves was frankly pathetic. I mentally categorized books into:

(1) Those that weren’t worth keeping by anyone’s standards – horribly out of date reference works, ancient paperbacks with no covers, and several – both hardback and paperback – that looked as if they might be harbouring notifiable diseases.

(2) Those that were of no interest to me. Yacht-building for Beginners, anyone?

(3) Those that were of no interest to me and of little material value but which had been around forever and it just seemed wrong to get rid of them – like a form of betrayal.

(4) Those that were of no interest to me but to which I had a sentimental attachment because of the memories they carried with them – who gave them to me, where I bought them, why I bought them.

(5) Those that represented past and current enthusiasms and interests.

(6) Those I would never part with under any circumstances.

Plainly, only books that fell into categories (1) and (2) above were culled at the first attempt, and even then I held onto some of them on the grounds that I could sell them online at some future date.

If we say, for the sake of argument, that I started out with approximately 2,000 books then the first weeding process reduced them by about 100.

I had another go.

I realized, a little belatedly, that there was no point in holding onto books that I could sell because the amount I could make from selling them was insignificant compared to the amount I could save by buying a three-bedroomed property instead of a four-bedroomed one. (I now refer to this as my ‘Doh’ moment.) Out they went.

It was harder to cope with the books to which I had a – frankly – irrational attachment simply because they’d always been around me. My father’s many interests over the years – in metal working, electrical engineering, foreign travel and wine – manifested themselves in dozens of books that I know the covers and titles of so well that I can still recite them from heart, but which I had never taken from the shelf, let alone opened. Likewise his obsessions with Georges Simenon, China and Montgomery of Alamein. I hardened my heart and out it all went. Ditto all the thrillers, war novels and general thick-ear blokey stuff.

Then a strange and unexpected thing began to happen: the more books I got rid of, the easier it became. The ‘coffee table’ books – looked at once and then consigned to the bookcase to lie flat because they were too big to stand up – were the next victims, followed by multiple out-dated antiques price guides, a complete set of Dennis Wheatley novels, most of my ‘A’ level  textbooks and a whole slew of cookery books bought – bizarrely – by my (non-cooking) father and never used by my mum because she always relied on her old faithfuls and her memory.

Next to go into the boxes were most of the modern fiction (the only exceptions being those books written by friends, many of them signed for me), general reference books, books relating to old enthusiasms, quiz books, ancient crossword companions, dictionaries (I mean really, who needs EIGHT dictionaries?) and all the books that I knew, when I looked honestly into my heart of hearts, I would never open again.

By the time I’d finished, there were fifty boxes of books in the summerhouse awaiting collection by the British Heart Foundation – along with the five large bookcases needed to store them.

I’d succeeded in reducing the number of books in the house by 75%, and as they disappeared into the back of the van, I felt nothing but relief.

What was left was both interesting and enlightening.

I still have a large collection of hardback cloth-bound literary classics that have travelled with my family throughout its 30+ house moves over more than 60 years, some of them beautifully embossed and gilded, others plain and war-economy, but still robust and handsome and a pleasure to handle and read.

Poetry books are also well represented along with books relating to my current and ongoing interests and enthusiasms – gardening, the Brontës, Tolkien, natural history, astronomy, arts and crafts.

Next there are the books that I would never willingly  part with:

  • My mum’s treasured and dog-eared copies of Edith Sitwell’s Anthology and Palgrave’s Golden Treasury and the bible she carried on her wedding day.
  • Those old faithful cookery books – much-annotated and handed down through two generations.
  • Books that are simply beautiful: several complete Shakespeares, leather bound editions of The Pilgrim’s Progress, the Arabian Nights, multiple Bibles, the Kur’an and the Talmud …

Last, but far from least, are the books that have marked significant moments in my life, or carry with them special memories of people and places that are or have been important to me; to part with them would truly be to give away a piece of my life and who I am.

Sitting here now, beside my depleted bookcases, I’m unexpectedly happy with what I’ve done. It’s only been a couple of weeks since those 50 boxes of books left the house, but already I’m beginning to forget which books they were. I don’t miss them at all.

When I think of the books that provide the route map of my life – the ones that have been, and remain, important to me – they’re the ones that are still with me. The rest, I now realize, were just luggage and – like most luggage – I’m better off without them.

(Photo credit: Jukka Zitting, on Flickr, reproduced under a Creative Commons licence.)

7 comments on “This is My Life …

  1. Kirsty D
    October 30, 2015

    Moira, what a fantastic post. I have been doing a similar thing: with a baby on the way, the spare room with all the bookcases isn’t going to be a spare room for much longer. I completely agree with you about it getting easier as you go; by the end I was pulling out books with wild abandon.

    What started as a difficult task has actually ended up being quite liberating. It’s made me reassess exactly which books I want to keep (and why), and of those still unread, it made me really think hard about whether I did actually really want to read them. It’s been a surprisingly satisfying experience, all in!

  2. heavenali
    October 30, 2015

    Lovely post. So much of our pasts seem tangled up with the books on our shelves they can feel like part of us. The volumes you have kept sound wonderful.

  3. Lisa
    October 30, 2015

    When I am facing a move is the only time I can do this effectively. There’s something about asking, “Do I really want to pack & move this book” that makes it really easy to let them go. But these have all been my own. Books with family history or associations attached might be much harder.

  4. Mary Smith
    October 30, 2015

    Great post, and very timely, as I’m embarking on a similar cull. It’s not that I’m moving but I have inherited my dad’s books to add to my own collection. His are in the attic. It’s too soon to make decisions about them although I know I’m unlikely to have any need to dip into his collection of Clydesdale stud books but there are some I definitely want to keep – but have no space on the bookshelves. Last night I filled one box. I shall re-read your post this evening before I start on the next section. I’m sure it will encourage me in the task.

  5. Evonne Wareham
    October 30, 2015

    I’m trying to do similar – sentiment is a problem – Parents and grandparents Sunday school prizes, for starters.

  6. Desperate Reader
    October 31, 2015

    I did something like this in the spring and found it really helpful. If I had more space I’d have more books but I don’t so I regularly have to take a good look at which ones I truly want and which ones are just so much excess baggage – it’s the same with clothes. Well done on the clear out.

  7. Sandra Thompson
    November 2, 2015

    Wish you’d posted this last December when circumstances dictated moving house after 17 years! Almost killed my partner and his friend who moved my boxes of books. Of course, our new place is accessed by the staircase from hell. Needless to say, they are still in boxes in the hallway and a constant reminder to my partner who never lets me forget how I almost killed him🙂

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on October 30, 2015 by in Entries by Moira, Special Features and tagged , , , .



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
