Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

UKYA Day – Interview with Leila Rasheed

Hurray, it’s UKYA Day! This event was organized by Queen of Contemporary Lucy Powrie.  Lucy has an amazing blog where she champions books of all kinds, by authors of all kinds, and she is known as one of the most dedicated and passionate bloggers on the teen/YA scene.

For UKYA Day, I considered writing about the YA books I’m reading at the moment, which include the gritty Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth, CJ Daugherty’s addictive Night School series and Helen Grant’s terrifying The Demons of Ghent. But due to the fact that I’ve been up all night working through page proofs so that my own new YA book can go to the printer tomorrow (eeek!) I decided to save these mini-reviews for another day. Instead, I’m going to wind back the clock to my interview with author Leila Rasheed, which I posted on Vulpes Libris last year.

Leila’s thoughtful answers to my (non-remarkable) questions about YA, led me to question many of my views and assumptions, and so I’d like to re-run part of this interview again. Leila is one of the most intelligent and compassionate writers I’ve ever encountered and I’d encourage you to check out her website.

Interview with Leila Rasheed

Do you think teenagers should be able to read whatever they like? Is there any subject that shouldn’t be covered in YA?

leila-rasheedYes, teenagers like everyone else should choose for themselves what they want to read. Having said that, adults have a moral responsibility to look after the interests of people who are not of legal majority. That extends to the influence they have over them, and nothing is more influential than a book. I look after my son, who is two. I stop him from running into roads and make sure he brushes his teeth and stuff. I do it partly because I love him, partly because it’s my legal responsibility, but also because he is not an adult, and I am. I don’t have to take care of every non-adult in the world, but I do have to take care with every non-adult in the world, because I think that is the morally right thing for me, as an adult, to do. Difference between taking care of and taking care with: I don’t have to adopt orphans, but if I hand a sixteen year old a crack pipe, or tell her she’s fat and ugly on a daily basis, I am at least partially responsible for the consequences –because I am thirty-seven, old enough to know better.
So I think writers of YA literature have a moral responsibility to take care. When I write a novel, that novel is going to speak intimately, in private – a private line, a voice in the ear – to many, many different people. As a writer you speak privately, intimately, persuasively without knowing to whom you’re speaking. Am I speaking to a teenager with a history of self harm? To a child whose father has just walked out? To an adult who was sexually abused as a child? I don’t know who is reading my books. I don’t know the impact my words may have on them, because I don’t know them. I don’t know what they are sensitive to. I don’t know what they are allergic to.

secretsIf you think about this too much you paralyse yourself, which is of course no good. Still, Patrick Ness said in his Siobhan Dowd Trust lecture that writing for children is an act of love. I agree, and love is care. The fact that your book is being published as teenage literature, rather than adult literature is a promise that this book will take care with its audience. Every author for children and teenagers needs to set their moral compass for themselves – but they do have to set it.

I can’t immediately think of any specific subject that shouldn’t be covered in YA. I can’t think of any subject that shouldn’t be covered in children’s literature either. It’s more a question of *how* you cover it.

And as a follow-up to that question: Is YA getting too dark? Do you think there should be age guidelines/content warnings?

What is dark? What is a young adult? What is literature? I don’t mean to sound dismissive. I think these are vital questions. By too dark do you mean too much violent content, too much graphically described violence, too much politics, too much death from war, too much death from illness, abuse, or what? Is The Hunger Games dark? Is We were Liars? Is Before I Die?

I do think that children’s literature has always gone hand in hand with death, as has childhood. I’m not up to Googling the statistics, but I’m sure all over the world, most people die before their first birthday. It is only relatively recently that British children have stopped dying just as much, from poverty and disease, and even more recently, two world wars which brought death into many if not most families in Britain. Peter Pan is all about death – tick tock, tick tock. The Water Babies is pretty dark. The Fairchild Family has lots of deaths, a child burning to death, a gibbet. The Narnia series starts in the middle of a war and ends with the death of Lucy, Peter and Edmund in a train accident. And the passage of time, the loss of the past, the inevitability of change and eventual death – that’s a constant obsession of British children’s literature. Tom’s Midnight Garden, Winnie the Pooh.
Then there are the less well known children’s books, the forgotten books that were wildly popular at the time: Froggie’s Little Brother, Jessica’s Last Prayer – these books in particular – the evangelical, ‘street arab’ stories – these remind me strongly of the cancer genre, they centre around the pathos of a child’s death, and that death carries meaning for the reader about how to live their lives. In the Victorian age, the focus was usually on the death itself; the good death. In our less religious world, the focus is usually on the good life. But here’s the thing, at about the time Before I Die came out, when I was working in a bookshop, there was also an autobiography written by a teenager who was living with cancer. The difference in tone between this upbeat, positive, energetic voice and the elegiac voices of every cancer book I’ve ever read, struck me very forcefully. The difference was that she told her own story; the cancer books tell stories about dying people for the healthy and living. But people who want to read about cancer will pick up The Fault in Our Stars, and I expect her book is out of print now.

Briefly, I do think that we seem to be going through a rather wallowy miserable period in children’s literature, and yes, The Hunger Games is more violent than the Chalet School. But what does children’s literature reflect except an adult world? Adults can hardly go to the cinema to see a Tarantino and then complain about The Hunger Games. So I think we are, as always, getting the children’s and YA literature we deserve.

The full interview can be found here.

UKYA Day will also mark my official return to blogging! Some of our regular readers might have noticed that I haven’t been around Vulpes Libris much for the past year. The reasons for this are as follows: 1) new baby 2) new book and 3) new film! Anyway, it’s great to be back.



2 comments on “UKYA Day – Interview with Leila Rasheed

  1. Jackie
    April 12, 2015

    I recall reading this when it was first posted & being a bit shocked at how considerate she is of her audience, saying things that I’d never heard another author say. The empathy and insight that takes is quite remarkable.
    Looking forward to your return to VL and your reviews, mini or not.
    Happy UKYA Day!

  2. Lisa
    April 13, 2015

    Thanks, Jackie! It was a fantastic day. So much love for YA. Wonderful to see.

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on April 12, 2015 by in Uncategorized.



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
