Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Vulpes Random: Kate’s new site

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABookFox Kate calling, aka the podcaster formerly known as Why I Really Like This Book. After three years of podding in the ethersphere, I’m taking my podcasting equipment back to earth and exchanging my spaceboots for shoes, to blog more exuberantly than ever before, on I’ll be writing about the things I might have podded about hitherto (novels, stories, authors, travel, nature writing, the forgotten authors of English literature, the very finest fantasy fiction). There will be reposts of my podcast scripts, lightly edited and dusted with the scent of the freshest research. I’ll also be writing about things that simply can’t be podded about: the joy of knitting, how not to ring a quarter-peal, the music that makes me get excited about teaching, genre-specific biscuit recommendations, how to apply hand-cream while turning the page.

As well as a home for blogposts urging on the dawn of new knowledge, this site is my shop window, my brochure deluxe that tells anyone interested what I’ve been researching and writing about as a literary historian for the past ten years. All my books are listed with little explanations of why I wrote them and what they’re about, and (such a treat for the truly dedicated) all my book chapters and scholarly articles, in which I dance neat jigs around the academic jargon that we in the trade are obliged to use in order to get published and keep our jobs. The art of writing well is to be understood, and there is no excuse for not writing well even if you’re writing in academia. I hope I write well: my publishers seem to think so.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAKnow, then, that I remain active on Vulpes Libris as a barking BookFox, livelier than ever. Come join me on my journey of fizzing enthusiasm across the galaxies of books that have been opened all too infrequently, so we may turn the pages of wonderment together and have a jolly good read. There will be good words and high jinks, bad puns also, for the stout of heart. Meringues and pralines are optional. is a WordPress site that you can follow, just like Vulpes Libris, so follow the link, and if you like what you see, Follow me, Follow, down to the Hollow, and there we will Wallow, in glooooooorious ….

About Kate

Blogger, lecturer, podcaster, writer, critic, reviewer, researcher (in no particular order) in and on British literary history. Preferred occupation while listening to podcasts: cooking or knitting. Preferred soundtrack while reading: the sound of silence.

3 comments on “Vulpes Random: Kate’s new site

  1. Hilary
    January 1, 2015

    You ring bells, Kate? We could doubtless compare notes on how not to ring a quarter peal! Looking forward to all this immensely🙂

  2. Jackie
    January 2, 2015

    What a great feeling of optimism and joy in this post. Good Luck with the new blog & glad you are remaining an active Book Fox. Of course, I shall subscribe….

  3. Kate
    January 2, 2015

    Yes, fifteen years ago I rang bells, and nearly took my hand off in a Bob Major.

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on January 1, 2015 by in Entries by Kate, Vulpes Randoms and tagged , , , , , , .



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
