Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald

The Blue FlowerPenelope Fitzgerald is an author I’ve often read about but not actually read. She’s particularly been on the radar after the coverage of her critically acclaimed biography, by Hermione Lee, that was published last year. So, when The Blue Flower was chosen for my book group last month, I was pleased to have had the nudge to actually pick up one of her books. Indeed, I had even higher hopes when I Googled it and found that it is generally accepted as amongst her best work, and Hermione Lee picked it as her Book of a Lifetime in The Independent.

The Blue Flower is a fictionalised account of the life of the 18th century German poet and philosopher Novalis, with the focus being on his curious engagement with Sophie, the daughter of the family that he was actuary for. Sophie was just 13 years old when they announced their engagement, though they never actually married because Sophie tragically died at the age of 15.

I have to confess to knowing absolutely nothing about Novalis, nor indeed about 18th century German poetry, so I went in with no preconceptions and with no prior knowledge about his life and work. My, he was an earnest chap, at least in Fitzgerald’s account. He surrounded himself with books and knowledge, attending several universities, and finally being trained up to follow in his father’s footsteps running salt mines. Poetry and philosophy, though, were his passions, often including verses in letters and telling people about Fichte. Usually whether they wanted to hear it or not.

The blue flower of the title is an elusive thing, something Novalis is almost obsessed with, and which he cannot attain. It’s tied up with ideas of beauty and enlightenment – as is Sophie. Or rather, his perception of Sophie, because for all he essentially falls in love with her at first sight, his brother is shocked by how unattractive she is.

Fitzgerald’s writing is a dream. The style was as if it were translated, with that slightly distant quality that I always think characterizes translated fiction. I think it works particularly well for this novel, with its dreamy character and his dreamy ways. To have the prose almost at arm’s length works to envelope the reader further in its world, if that’s not totally contradictory. Something that we all remarked upon in our book group was how immediately we felt we were there with the characters, even those of us (most of us) who came to the story with absolutely no prior knowledge.

One question that came up was about the decision to write a work of fiction about a real person. I think it’s an interesting question. It feels like a very deliberate move, and I’d love to know what drew Fitzgerald to him for her last novel. I’m always curious about fictionalized accounts of real people or events, and if I’m honest, I’m not sure I’ve always liked the ones I’ve read in the past. This book, though, was quite different. I would never have picked it up myself; the words “18th century German poetry” would not have filled me with abject joy. I would have missed out, because I ended up really enjoying it.

Penelope Fitzgerald, The Blue Flower (London: Fourth Estate, 2013 edition). ISBN 9780006550198, RRP £8.99


2 comments on “The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald

  1. gertloveday
    May 24, 2014

    I went back after reading the Lee bio to read some of the very early Penelope Fitzgerald – “The Bookshop”, which seems to be based on her own life, and “The Golden Baby” which is a murder mystery set in a museum. It was interesting to see the arc of development from there to “The Blue Flower”, which is a work of another order entirely. I admire it, but I’m not sure how much I enjoy it…..

  2. Jackie
    May 24, 2014

    That’s one good thing about book groups is that they often have you reading books that you’d never would have otherwise. It’s always a pleasant surprise when it’s something you end up liking.
    I’d never heard of Novalis before, but he’s got my respect for loving a woman considered unattractive. It’s unfortunate that she died so young. His life sounds like one that was only possible in centuries past.
    Your compliments on Fitzgerald’s writing makes this one sound like something I’d enjoy, I’m going to see if my library has it.

Leave a Reply

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
