Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Happy Birthday to Us!

perfect-birthday_cakeWe are 6! Yes, Vulpes Libris was begun by Founder Fox Leena six years ago today! That was in 2007, if you are as bad at math as I am. Since that time, we’ve had over 1,800 posts, gotten nearly a million and a half hits and more than fifteen thousand comments. As always, milestones make us reflective and some of the Book Foxes briefly explained what they liked best about the site or what the experience has meant to them. If you’d like to join in our celebration, you can tell us what you like best about our site or a post that had special meaning in the comments below. In any case, we would like to thank all of you who have read, commented and followed VL through the years. Whether you’ve been doing so for awhile or just recently, we appreciate your stopping by and letting VL be part of your day. Thank you!

Lisa was the first to respond “Most recently, Vulpes Libris has been a place for me to explore my love of picture books. Picture books might seem an odd addition to a book site which tackles some pretty heavyweight non-fiction, and all kinds of novels, but picture books can be where a lifelong love of reading begins, and I am so pleased to have a place to enthuse about them.

Vulpes Libris also keeps me connected to readers and the other Book Foxes, which is very important to me, and stops me feeling isolated way down here in deepest, darkest (well, sunniest, really) Cornwall.”

Rosy said “VL remains for me a place where I can “talk” with people from all over the world about ideas – however broad or esoteric – that I’m interested in and mean something to me. It is a place I can indulge myself in pursuits I left behind at university and it’s somewhere I feel comfortable trying out ideas – it provides a broad and supportive environment and is a place of good values and good company. It always has something thoughtful, interesting or unusual to offer in the week and I enjoy reading the site when I’m not writing for it too.”

Comrade Kirsty listed her reasons “For me the three best things about VL are:
1. The immediacy of it.Short pieces, which are posted, and read, and discussed–it’s such a different feeling from working on a big,long-term project like a novel, although both are satisfying.
2.The camaraderie. I’ve been a part of VL since 2008. The Foxes are my friends, ranting buddies, beta readers and critique partners.
3.The fact that I get to talk about all the things that interest me, and nobody has yet told me to shut up.”

Moira told us “The last six years of my life have been some of the most tempestuous and unstable years of my life (and believe me, I’ve seen some …). When Leena asked me if I would like to write for Vulpes Libris, I did it as a favour to a friend and as a diversion – something I’d never tried before. Over the intervening years, however, VL has become a rock, a refuge and a still point at the centre of an unsettled life. I’ve read books I’d never even have thought of picking up, sobbed on the shoulders of my fellow Book Foxes, shared their own triumphs and tragedies and met and talked to people who would never otherwise have crossed my path.

My life is still far from plain sailing, but in all the times I’ve taken stock and looked at ways to free up more time for the sake of my sanity, the possibility of leaving VL has never even occurred to me. Writing for it and being part of it has kept me sane … and if anyone else has enjoyed what I have written these last 6 years, well – it’s a bit of a happy bonus really …”

And Hilary summed up “I still feel very much like the new girl in the den, but this birthday has caused me to look back and recollect that I’ve been here for almost all but one of VL’s six years, having joined not long after its first birthday. So, nearly five years on, I’m happy to say that being a Bookfox is an indispensable and very happy part of my life. I’ve met and made friends with such wonderful people through joining our collective, and learnt so much from their wisdom and wide reading.

I’m absolutely amazed at what we’ve achieved in six years – our archive is an astonishing resource, and when I look at the daily stats I’m fascinated and really rather touched by how many pieces that we’ve published have a life beyond the daily post. Many of our pieces are accessed again and again, and in several cases (such as our guest review of The Blind Side) we’ve tapped into and in some cases anticipated the Zeitgeist without realising it.

Oh. And. I get all my best book recommendations from my fellow Bookfoxes – my bookshelves are double-banked and, if a Kindle app could groan, mine would be groaning! What I laughingly refer to as my reading schedule is constantly sent off course by some irresistible review. What on earth am I doing, buying picture books at my age?! So, a very Happy Foxy Birthday to my fellow Bookfoxes – and many more of them!”

11 comments on “Happy Birthday to Us!

  1. Kate
    October 18, 2013

    and I should say, as the newest-but-two Book Fox, that I love reading and writing for VL. I can’t imagine not being part of this collective, and having these friends. We don’t often meet, since four of us don’t live in the UK, but we are all always ready to talk books to each other, and to anyone else listening. Thanks Jacks!

  2. Sue Moorcroft
    October 18, 2013

    Happy birthday!🙂

  3. Kate Lace
    October 18, 2013

    Many happy returns and keep on reviewing great books!

  4. elizabethashworth
    October 18, 2013

    Happy Birthday Book Foxes – and thank you for all your hard work and for drawing my attention to some superb books that I would have otherwise missed.

  5. kaggsysbookishramblings
    October 18, 2013

    Congrats and well done! Keep up the great work – you send me off on some lovely book trails I never would have gone on with your reviews and recommendations!

  6. beatzkane
    October 19, 2013

    Reblogged this on Beatz kane Blog 143.

  7. fauquetmichel
    October 19, 2013

    happy birthday to VL . I like reading your articles , brief but meaningful about the books .
    I thank Jackie for this article that sums the ambiance in the team . litterature and arts made people well achieved and fulfilled
    Many years to come for the group!

  8. Stevie Carroll
    October 20, 2013

    Happy Birthday, book foxes!

  9. Simon (Stuck-in-a-Book)
    October 20, 2013

    happy birthday to what I am now delighted to call ‘us’!

  10. Chandan watti
    November 19, 2013

    Happy birthday bhaiya

  11. Krishna Mohan
    January 30, 2014

    Happy birthday

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on October 18, 2013 by in Birthday, Entries by Hilary, Entries by Kirsty, Entries by Lisa, Entries by Moira, Entries by Rosy and tagged , , .



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
