Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Dressage: a study of the finer points of riding, by Henry Wynmalen

wynmalenFinally, I desire my horses to work happily, gaily, with pleasure and with zest.  If we manage, throughout our training, to preserve both the gentleness and the gaiety of our horse we shall not, in the end, go very far amiss.  Horses really are sensitive to atmosphere.  If we enjoy working with them and do so in a cheery frame of mind, in the spirit of learning and doing something together, they will respond generously. (p. 36)

The thing about books on riding is that, unless you’re reading for wish fulfilment, the way you experience them is always bound up with the horses in your life.  I grew up with a Wynmalen horse: Tanya, a beautiful and sensitive Arab x Welsh mare, raised and trained by my mother with the aid of a copy of the revised edition of Dressage.  That copy went the way of all flesh and, earlier this year, when Mum and I colluded in buying a young Highland mare called Chanter, a new second-hand copy was acquired.  I promptly stole it (sorry, Mum).

I don’t wish to go all Proust’s madeleine on you, but holding that book in my hands had an instant and powerful effect.  It was exactly the same as the old copy, with the salmon-pink spine and the picture of Reiner Klimke* on the front.  Somewhere between losing my nerve after Tanya’s retirement in my teens and returning to horses last year, when I could no longer bear to be without them, I had forgotten about Wynmalen.  But there must have been a time, perhaps even before I was really able to understand it, that I knew this book inside out: the look and the feel and the heft of it.

Starting to read, or perhaps to re-read, I quickly realised that it was not just a significant object.  Page after page, I came across sentences—very Wynmalen sentences, dry and conversational and with an edge of wit—that summed up things I’d always thought to be self-evident, but had never really considered.  It goes without saying that any book written in 1953, even a revised edition, is outmoded in some respects.  Our understanding of equine physiology has moved on, and Wynmalen’s own seat looks archaic now.  But Dressage is largely a book about principles, and these principles, or Wynmalen’s formulation of them, lie at the heart of everything I do, think and feel, consciously or unconsciously, around horses.  They inform my aims as a rider: what I would like from my horse, what I want from myself.  To ride and train with minimal equipment and the lightest possible aids; to look for a natural outline and clean, self-carrying movement; to relate to the horse as a partner, not as a subject, and certainly not as a suspect.  And yes, it is all perfectly good sense.  But with horsemanship now up there with parenting and dog training in terms of the sheer amount of systems peddled, brands flogged and flame wars conducted, perfectly good sense cannot be oversold.

Above all, Dressage reminds us of the thing that’s too often lost when the conversation turns to technique: the sheer joy of working together with a horse, and finding that the horse chooses, freely and joyfully in his turn, to work with you.  There’s nothing like it.  No matter the school, no matter the teacher, that’s why we do it; or, at least, that’s why we should.  The reminder is always salient.

A&C Black, 1984, 308 pp.  ISBN: 0-7316-2370-5

* Dressage rider, trainer, outstanding human being.  All hail Reiner Klimke.

7 comments on “Dressage: a study of the finer points of riding, by Henry Wynmalen

  1. Jackie
    October 11, 2013

    Really enjoyed this review of what sounds like a terrific book I can tell by the cover that it’s “vintage”, but the attitude presented is timeless. And I like how you weave memories through your review. Very nicely done, all around!

  2. Melrose
    October 11, 2013

    Thank you for writing such a lovely review about a timeless book – a book from which I gleaned much information, many years ago, in an easily read and very understandable manner, making the principles Wynmalen put forward easy to apply, and ending up with, as Wynmalen said he liked his horses to be, a horse that worked “happily, gaily, with pleasure and with zest”. For anyone interested in horsemanship, it is certainly worth tracking down a copy of this book, if you can.

  3. Livia Tasia
    October 11, 2013

    Wonderful write up!!

  4. Pingback: Video Day Friday: “Horse and Rider” Documentary – Understanding the animal…(which one?) « NewsBook by Aspire Equestrian Riding Academy

  5. maggie gregory
    November 8, 2013

    I am reading my 1971 version which I have had since I bought it then (as a 10 yrs old). I love it!! I may not have understood much of it in 1971 and after years of riding since, it makes so much sense to me. I love his humor and genuine opinions that have not been tempered by trying to be politically correct. He says what he thinks and his mastery of the subject is to be revered, even to this day.

  6. Pingback: Bitless Bridle Now Allowed for Dressage Competition |

  7. Christina Duke
    March 8, 2016

    My bible from the age of 12 was Henry Wynmalen’s Equitation, it carried my through all sorts of considerations with young horses all of my life and is about to be there again, as required with a race horse just off the track.

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on October 11, 2013 by in Entries by Kirsty, Non-fiction, Non-fiction: sport and tagged , , , , .



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
