Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes

until youre mine

I know…I’m reviewing a grown-up book. I do sometimes read them. And this one is pretty extraordinary.

I recently went on holiday to Mexico. It was very much a beach and relax holiday and I therefore went armed with an embarrassing amount of books. Luckily for both baggage allowance and looking-like-a-nutter reasons, mostly I filled up my Kindle app. But it seems the thirty odd books I took weren’t enough. I’m quite old, so there’s still a certain astonishment that comes with lying on a beach in a foreign country, reading about a great new book on my phone and in less than 30 seconds opening up that book and starting to read.

Until You’re Mine isn’t your traditional beach read. It’s a gripping psychological thriller along the lines of Before I go To Sleep. It is one of the most pleasantly uncomfortable books I’ve ever read. I was utterly chewing my nails from page one. Knowing things are definitely wrong with the situation but seeing the characters being completely oblivious  and you want to yell at them to get out before it’s too late and there’s nothing you can do except keep turning the pages and hope…

The story is told from three different viewpoints. The opening prologue is from the POV of an unknown woman who is desperate to the point of madness for the one thing that will make her life complete. A baby.

The story opens with heavily pregnant Claudia who is step mother to twin boys under five with a Naval Officer husband who is out of the country for long stretches of time. Claudia needs to employ a nanny to stay with her to prepare for her new arrival and deal with the children.

Zoe arrives for interview for the nanny position and as the viewpoint turns to her you know pretty much from the start that all is not accurate with her glowing nanny CV and her reasons for being there.

The third viewpoint character is police officer Lorraine who is investigating the brutal murder of a pregnant woman found lying in her bathtub next to the dead body of her freshly removed baby.

Each viewpoint character has their opportunity to tell the story, unfolding the twists and turns with perfect precision. The ending is a tour de force and it was on top of me before I had the gumption to work out where all the pieces had so deftly fitted together. Gripping is an understatement and the fact that I was lying on a beach in Cancun and forgot I was there is quite an achievement. If you’re looking for a well written, expertly plotted page turner, I heartily recommend Until You’re Mine. I devoured it in a few hours and was left completely exhausted. Snoozing in the sun afterwards was a welcome recovery.

About Eve Harvey

Eve Harvey is a bookaholic. She is forever to be found with her nose in a book. If there are none around then newspapers, magazines, the back of cereal packets, road signs or the tiny washing labels found on the seams of jumpers will do. Eve used to have full time job as a children's bookseller and she was the very first Waterstone's Children's Expert Bookseller in Scotland. Her first love was definitely literature for children and teens, about which she has nerd-level knowledge. However she has since become involved in grown-up books and has co-written her first adult novel with Cath Murphy. Eve and Cath Podcast, blog and have far too much fun on their website Domestic Hell. Eve lives in a field just outside Edinburgh in Scotland with her daughter and son and two dogs and two rabbits. She also has some tanks of tropical fish and vows one day to start up a marine aquarium. And the day she signs her very first publishing deal she is going to celebrate by buying a pair of Horsefields tortoises. You can find Eve through her Agent, Ella Kahn at DKW Literary Agency. She's also on Twitter or on her website :

3 comments on “Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes

  1. Jackie
    October 7, 2013

    Oh my, I can see how this would be gripping, though it’s way too much for a wimp like me, I can see the appeal. And an interesting angle for a suspense book, too.
    Really enjoyed the first part of this review, I’ve missed your humor on VL, great to see it back.

  2. Donna Farrer
    October 9, 2013

    I am glad that you reviewed “a grown up book” nothing wrong with that. I have a couple kids and sometimes you just need to be in a place among adults. This one has peaked my interest so I may give it a try. I was looking for some good reads to add to my tbr list for the rainy, wintry season. I would recommend a great thriller by Don Grippo. I just read it and it was so good. To Sleep…Perchance to Die is the name, it’s a good read. for it’s info. And since you do kids books, any recommends on some that would be good stocking stuffers?

  3. Pingback: UNTIL YOU'RE MINE paperback coming soon! | Samantha Hayes

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on September 28, 2013 by in Entries by Eve, Fiction: thriller.



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
