Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

The Joshua Files : Invisible City. A review and interview with author MG Harris

“It’s a book.”

“That’s not a book!”

“It most certainly is,” I say and slide the neon cover from the paperback. “Tah Dah! Book!”

“Woah!” No 1 son’s eyes light up in the reflection of the electric orange sleeve. “Can I have it?” I can hear the hunger in his voice.

I pass over the book and have never seen it, or him, since.

Luckily, I had the foresight to buy more than one copy of The Joshua Files: Invisible City and can therefore tell you all about it.

The trouble with sayings like “you can’t tell a book by its cover” is that sometimes they’re just plain wrong. As I look at the electrifying outer skin of The Joshua Files, I find myself thinking of men in bars, blinged up to the nines and dressed to kill. You instinctively know that they have made so much effort to cover up the fact that they’re tedious. The Joshua Files : Invisible City on the other hand has a wholly appropriate skin. In fact I would go so far as to say that they could easily have added some flashing lights and a siren and still not upstaged the contents.

The story is about Josh, he’s thirteen and his archaeologist father is killed in an aeroplane crash. His mother falls apart and he is left to deal with his feelings alone. Is his father really dead? Was he killed? Were there UFO’s flying around on the night his Dad died? Josh tries to come to terms with what has happened by putting his thoughts down in a Blog. While browsing through his Dad’s old emails Josh comes across clues that catapult him into the adventure of a lifetime. This adventure almost wholly takes place in Mexico as Josh searches for the lost book of the Mayan civilisation: the Ix Codex. And I almost feel I’ve been there too. The vivid descriptions of the scenery, of the humidity, the colour and vibrancy of the landscape are so beautifully captured that I almost felt the muggy heat, smelled the hibiscus and tasted the tortillas.

To me one of the biggest attractions of this book is the deep characterisation of Josh. He’s just any ordinary boy. But he’s a boy dealing with the loss and pain of the death of his father and he’s having to do this alone. This underlies and propels the narrative and the journey he takes is not only one of action and adventure but also the stages of grief as he fights to discover the truth. The interplay between both the physical and emotional journey leads to a powerful connection between reader and character. Don’t get me wrong this book is not all doom and gloom, far from it. In fact the subtle way these themes are played out are a credit to MG Harris’s skill in keeping the reader emotionally charged yet not bogged down in psychological overkill.

To say this novel is exciting is an understatement. Now, I am well known for my lack of patience, my hundred mile an hour mentality and my miniscule attention span. I am therefore well placed to opine on books for kids – since in a lot of ways I am one! And I was exhausted at the end of The Joshua Files. There is not one page that doesn’t make you have to turn over to the next one. And incredibly the pace increases towards the dénouement and you’re practically flicking them over to get to the end. I needed a cup of tea and a lie down when I closed the book.

The Joshua Files is a mystery, an adventure and a dramatic tale of loss, loyalty and personal responsibility. It’s a full throttle adrenaline rush that will appeal to the kids (and adults) of the 21st Century but it will also help them to see that battles can be fought and won, determination pays off and you should never give up.

If you’ve ever really wanted to buy a kid a book but were afraid they’d find it boring, naff, un-cool then now’s your chance. Go for it – they can’t help being impressed at your obvious funkyness. And I’m first in the queue for the next instalment (two copies again!).

Interview with MG Harris

Eve: I’m holding a breathtaking copy of The Joshua Files : Invisible City in my hand. It is the most striking book I have ever seen, this amazing cover is unique. First of all, how do you feel about its gorgeousness and how did this innovation come about?

MG: I really can’t take ANY credit for the innovative cover at all – it’s all the brilliant Scholastic design team! I was happy to let Scholastic just go ahead and take care of the cover design – after all what would I know about designing something to attract a 10-year old child? I became aware of just how crucial the cover was, when Julian Esposito, the former Buyer for Children’s Books at Borders took me aside at a Scholastic Christmas party and whispered “Make sure they give you a GREAT cover! It’s the most important thing for children’s books…” What I love is that in several ways the slipcover completes the book cover; it’s truly a design of two halves: it disguises the orange colour-burst around the title (which you don’t really see until the slipcover is removed), it completes the black lines of the J logo and it protects the book. My editor first showed the finished product to my agent and I at a meeting and we were all cooing over it. I’d heard that the edges glowed but I couldn’t imagine how. So I totally love it! As my editor said at the time, it’s a Gorgeous Thing!

Eve : The Joshua Files is set in both Oxford and Mexico and I get the impression from reading that these are both places very close to your heart. In particular the vivid descriptions of Mexico that bring the book so much to life. Can you tell me about your relationship with these settings?

MG: I live in Oxford and have done since I came to study biochemistry here as an 18-year old. It’s a popular place to base a children’s adventure story – and I know it well so that cut down on research! I was born in Mexico City to Mexican parents and am still actually Mexican. I’ve been lucky to travel quite extensively in Mexico, both as a young adult and since. We always seem to be on yet another road trip when we arrive in Mexico; often with British friends as well as family members. The Yucatan, Veracruz and Campeche settings are all based on time spent in those parts of Mexico, which I really love but in particular the state of Veracruz.

Eve: The book is steeped in Mayan myth and legend and the fact-based background adds enormous depth to the novel. How did your interest in this civilisation come about and how do you research this fascinating subject?

MG: I first became interested in the Maya when I was fifteen and visited the Mayan ruins in Yucatan with my father, sisters and stepmother. They are seriously impressive monuments; huge pyramids in the middle of sweltering jungle. It wasn’t a comfortable visit; a long drive on hot, dusty roads in cars without airconditioning, intense heat and few facilities at the ruins, vertigo on the temples, claustrophobia inside the pyramids; but that all added to the intensity of the experience. Back at the hotel’s shop I found a fabulously hokey book in the Erich Von Daniken mould – claiming that ancient Mayans were survivors of Atlantis and originally from space… The mixture of exoticism, mystery and intrigue was too much for me. When we returned to Mexico City my sister and I hit the Museum of Anthropology and scooped up all the books we could about the Maya. So I used a few of my books, but also did extensive research on the Web. Mayanists have put huge amounts of terrific academic information on the Web. In the USA especially it’s a very popular academic field for archaeologists, epigraphers and anthropologists.

Eve: Okay, on a more personal level, what brought you into the world of writing and what do you love most about it? And actually, if you could just tack on at the end anything that you hate, that would be great.

MG: I wrote fan fiction about 12 years ago, and actually started the first Blake’s 7 Webzine – about which I ended up being interviewed in one of those BBC documentaries about genre TV fans. Fan fiction is good for practising prose, storytelling, dialogue and characterization, and you immediately get many readers. But it has limits – you don’t learn enough about how to create original characters, and you can get away with poor structure because what readers really enjoy is the characters – which aren’t yours! So after about three years (one novel and about ten short stories/novellas) I stopped. I wasn’t learning enough. I came to writing as a possible career because I’d always had the idea I’d like to try it. But when I thought of what I could write, all that came forth were tediously derivative ideas. So I suppressed all those thoughts and kept thinking that one day I’d look up from my work (science or business) and have ideas brimming forth, from years of being kept in… But around 2004 I realised that if I didn’t make an effort to clear my mind of work, I would probably never do it – any story ideas were just too deeply buried. I started out thinking I’d like to write for the screen. I entered a contest to write a sitcom for the BBC – and made it to the final 10%. I would have forgotten about writing, probably, but for a very encouraging rejection letter. So I thought – well maybe I could break into screenwriting if I published a commercial novel. And at the end of 2004 I broke my leg and had to spend 12 weeks off my feet, which seemed like the perfect excuse to start writing full-time. Luckily my husband’s job could support the family, so I could afford to stop working. We agreed I could have two years to get an agent. If not, I would go back to work. I had an idea that a commercial novel, like a screenplay, was a highly structured construct. I didn’t have time or money for a creative writing course so I set about reading books on how to construct a novel – and resigned myself to writing three or four manuscripts until I managed anything that would attract an agent. But in fact the second manuscript did attract an agent. It wasn’t good enough to get published – in my agent’s opinion as well as at least two others and a publisher! He was at least prepared to take me on – provided I listened to his advice about its flaws and more or less totally rewrote the script. The central concept was the same – a 13-year old Oxford boy continuing his dead father’s search for a lost Mayan codex.

I love that writing is HARD! Not I-hate-this-and-it-hurts hard, but pretty intellectually challenging; enough that you feel you’ve had a good brain work-out every day. And there’s nothing I hate about it.

Eve: You’ve made it now, and you’re “living the dream.” But how was your road to publication? Short and smooth? Or long, bumpy and potholed?

MG: I’d say it was pretty smooth, but that’s because I expected setbacks, rejections, delays, mysterious lengthy silences from agent AND publisher, frustration and heartache… and I got all of that. I was just prepared for much more. To be honest my scientific training was the most useful thing. Science is about repeating your experiments over and over, having them fail much of the time, and waiting and waiting, having papers rejected, having to jump through hoops to please journal referees, being beaten to a result by a rival group. So at every setback I just gritted my teeth and remembered the lab and thought – this is no worse.

Eve: If you were able to go back and give yourself one piece of advice when you were starting out as a writer, what would it be? And why?

MG: “It won’t take as long as you think!” There were times, like EVERY writer, that I felt despondent. But as a scientist I had a high tolerance for failure, and I knew just how much more rejection I was prepared to take…but envisaging that was painful…and in the end a waste of emotional energy because actually it wasn’t so bad!

Eve: The Joshua Files is breathtaking, exhilarating, edge of your seat adventure. Were you exhausted by the time you’d finished writing and what are you doing to build up your energy reserves for the next book in the series?

MG: You’re very generous to say that but the original manuscript moved like a sloth by comparison! Before we edited book 1, I wrote the ms for Joshua book 2, which is actually even faster-paced – there’s action-adventure from page 1. Then I came back to the leisurely version of “Invisible City” and with the amazing help and insight of my editor, shaved off about 10,000 words of slow-moving material. So “Invisible City” became a speedy read in the editing. Since then I’ve written two more manuscripts that hopefully move at that sort of pace or faster. It sort of IS exhausting because the characters rarely have even five minutes to sit down and reflect, and they’ve either just escaped a scrape or they’re headed for one. The adult reader in me does occasionally put in some more pensive sections, which I lose once I’ve seen the effect of reading them aloud to my yawning daughter! How do I build up reserves – I need a few months off between books! I try not to think of the enormity of 75,000 words. When it’s carefully planned it’s like sitting down to write a long series of short stories…

Eve: We have started a tradition here at VL that all interviewees should give their 5 favourite books and reasons for choosing them… so what would yours be?

MG: Don’t be surprised if they aren’t action adventure – I do read some action-adventure of course but actually that’s more of a movie preferance! In my own reading I prefer something less heart-stopping…

  1. Labyrinths by Jorge Luis Borges. There’s more in one Borges short story than in many fantasy novels. These have to be some of the most memorable short stories ever written. Reading Borges literally changed my life.
  2. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. Poetic, minimalist, contemporary, heart-breaking; apparently effortless eloquence. Intimidatingly good. The first book I ever cried over and the first time I realised that actually – it’s kind of nice to end up blubbing with a book in your hands…
  3. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. When I first read this in my twenties I thought: “Right. That’s it; it’s the best book I’ve ever read; I need never bother to write; I could never write this well so may as well forget it.” Gabo nearly put me off writing – and probably did put me off attempting literary fiction. It’s just so brilliant and sexy; romantic and all-encompassing.
  4. Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa Vargas. Llosa’s early novel, maybe not the towering literary achievement of other works of his but for me his most enjoyable. Funny, romantic and brilliantly latino and I first read it on my honeymoon.
  5. If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller by Italo Calvino. A fascinating and often hilarious critique on reading and the 20th Century novel, containing pastiches of several distinct styles. Blew me away in my twenties – I got into postmodernism for quite a while and started saying daft things like ‘What’s the point of a novel?’

Our thanks to MG for sparing the time to give us this interview.


You can find MG Harris at her own Website.

There is also a Fan Website set up for The Joshua Files:Invisible City, where you’ll find reams of pictures, a members forum and details of the background to the novel. It’s fabulous – go get lost in there!

The Joshua Files : Invisible City by MG Harris. Scholastic. 384 pages. Paperback with gorgeous zingy neon hardcover. £6.99. ISBN 13: 978-1407104027. ISBN 10: 1407104020

About Eve Harvey

Eve Harvey is a bookaholic. She is forever to be found with her nose in a book. If there are none around then newspapers, magazines, the back of cereal packets, road signs or the tiny washing labels found on the seams of jumpers will do. Eve used to have full time job as a children's bookseller and she was the very first Waterstone's Children's Expert Bookseller in Scotland. Her first love was definitely literature for children and teens, about which she has nerd-level knowledge. However she has since become involved in grown-up books and has co-written her first adult novel with Cath Murphy. Eve and Cath Podcast, blog and have far too much fun on their website Domestic Hell. Eve lives in a field just outside Edinburgh in Scotland with her daughter and son and two dogs and two rabbits. She also has some tanks of tropical fish and vows one day to start up a marine aquarium. And the day she signs her very first publishing deal she is going to celebrate by buying a pair of Horsefields tortoises. You can find Eve through her Agent, Ella Kahn at DKW Literary Agency. She's also on Twitter or on her website :

12 comments on “The Joshua Files : Invisible City. A review and interview with author MG Harris

  1. RosyB
    March 14, 2008

    Oh great interview! And it certainly is an eye-catching book – like a bar of gold or something. Was that deliberate?

    “To be honest my scientific training was the most useful thing. Science is about repeating your experiments over and over, having them fail much of the time, and waiting and waiting, having papers rejected, having to jump through hoops to please journal referees, being beaten to a result by a rival group. So at every setback I just gritted my teeth and remembered the lab and thought – this is no worse.”

    What a great way of putting it. And I am very interested in the relation between writing the book and being in the lab. Also the fact that a writer can bring something else to the story rather than the experience of trying to be a writer😉

    I now also want to read Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter because I keep hearing about it.

    Thanks both.

  2. RosyB
    March 14, 2008

    PS Is there an Indiana Jones feel about the Joshua Files or am I barking up the wrong tree?

  3. Mhairi
    March 14, 2008

    Oh now … this has really got my interest.

    Fascinating interview and great review …🙂

  4. sequinonsea
    March 14, 2008

    Excellent review and interview. Gorgeous book cover.

    “When it’s carefully planned it’s like sitting down to write a long series of short stories…” Good way of putting it!

  5. Eve Harvey
    March 14, 2008

    Yes Rosy it is a bit Indiana Jones with the archaeology and constant danger. But although I love the Jones movies and don’t want to diss them in any way, the character of Indiana Jones seems to me to be slightly one-dimensional. He’s merely a tool for the action to happen to and around.

    In the Joshua Files you’re with Joshua and he is the story… if you see what I mean. On another review I read it said he was more like Bourne, in a Jason Bourne/James Bond comparison and I think this captures the difference better than I can explain it.

    There is so much more depth than just a rollicking great action story. It’s very much a character driven novel in conjunction with the adventure. And I think this is what makes it rather special.

  6. Leena
    March 14, 2008

    Wow – what a striking-looking book, and sounds like a must-read too. Archaelogy, adventure, and depth – my type of book…

    “I love that writing is HARD! Not I-hate-this-and-it-hurts hard, but pretty intellectually challenging; enough that you feel you’ve had a good brain work-out every day.”

    Well said, indeed. And like Rosy, I loved the comparison between writing and science.

    Many thanks to you both. I’ve got to get a copy of this book!

  7. Luisa
    March 14, 2008

    Fantastic interview. Thanks, interviewer and interviewee! I thoroughly enjoyed reading that!

  8. Litlove
    March 15, 2008

    I just have to get hold of this for my son – I think he’ll love it! Wonderful review and interview, as ever.

  9. Jackie
    March 17, 2008

    Very entertaining review, Eve. I like when you adlib about your kids, always adds humor to the piece.
    The interview was good too. I like how Ms. Harris comes from a vastly different background than most writers & was intrigued at how lab work helped her persevere with her writing. Between her travels & science she has a rich source to draw upon. It’s interesting how much travel influences authors, I recall Emma Darwin referring a lot to her trips.
    Thanks for the interesting review & interview.

  10. MG Harris
    March 19, 2008

    Thanks to Eve and to all of you for taking the time to read this and to comment. You’re all very kind and I hope you enjoy the book, if you buy it…! Brilliant questions Eve!

  11. chris
    April 19, 2011

    When where you born Mrs. Harris?

  12. Pingback: Candid opinions from a crowded Den « Vulpes Libris

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on March 14, 2008 by in Entries by Eve, Fiction: children's, Interviews: authors and tagged , , , , .



Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.


  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
