Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Interview with the fabulous Laura Dave

lauradavepic.jpg

Laura Dave, author of London is the Best City in America and The Divorce Party (Viking) joins Vulpes Libris’s Lisa Glass for a chat about writing (and catastrophic computer accidents), selling film rights to Universal Studios, and a new approach to Valentine’s Day…

1) Tell us a bit about yourself. For instance: how did you start writing? What keeps you writing? Where do you write?
I have been writing – in some form or another – since I was in third grade. I really love the process of writing, and I always have, which is probably what keeps me working so hard at it. It is so magical to me – both telling stories and reading stories. I feel really lucky that I get to spend my time doing these things. Of course there are challenging days (and weeks! and months!), but…you know what? No but. There is that too, and part of really being a writer, I’ve learned, is taking it. And showing up for work anyway.

I recently turned thirty – 30! – but lived all over the country for most of my 20s. I have been back in New York City for the last couple of years – though I also spend quite a bit of time in California. In addition to writing fiction, I write for several magazines and newspapers such as The New York Times, Self Magazine, Glamour Magazine, and Blueprint.

2) Your book, London Is The Best City In America, is set over a weekend – how long did it take to finish writing the novel, and was it difficult to keep returning to the same weekend every time you sat down to write?
It took me about a year to write LONDON. It turned out to be both comforting and difficult to return to the same weekend every time I sat down to work. On one level, I had a really firm grasp on what I was trying to do. The weekend timeline provided me with needed structure and aim. Yet, on another level, the tight structure created a strong sense of responsibility in me to make the book read in “real time”- so that the reader would have a sense that he or she was actually going along on this one weekend with the characters.

Something that helped me a great deal was that I listened to the same song on repeat the entire time I wrote the book. If that sounds crazy…well…I can see why! But rhythmically, listening to the same song kept me in check. And I always had a sense of picking up where I left off. I take it as a major compliment that so many readers have written me to say they couldn’t put the book down – that they read it in one or two sittings – because it moved at such a strong pace. I owe a big thank-you to the music for helping accomplish that. The song? Not a particularly fast one but a great one: “Call Me On Your Way Back Home” by Ryan Adams.

3) Could you describe your experiences of the publishing industry? Has it all been plain sailing, or have there been setbacks along the way? Any more news about the movie for LONDON?
I feel lucky that both of my books have been with a wonderful publisher who believes in my work – and with a wonderful editor who gives 150% to help bring out the best in it. In that way, it has been smooth sailing. In other ways, less so. The publishing industry (and the movie industry, for that matter) can be tricky. My advice to new writers is always to surround yourself with people you trust to help navigate that trickiness – that way you can focus more on your work.

In terms of the movie situation, right now, Universal Studios has the film rights to LONDON. My fingers are crossed that the movie gets made!

The Divorce Party rights haven’t sold yet.

the-divorce-party.jpg 4) What should we expect from your next book, The Divorce Party?
I am very excited about The Divorce Party which is being released on May 19th. The book takes place in Montauk, New York – which is really a magical place. The novel focuses on two women at the opposite ends of marriage: one trying to navigate the end of hers, and her future daughter-in-law aiming to handle the beginning. Both women end up asking the same question: how do you ever know anyone? Even the person closest to you?

It is a multi-generational story about love and family – and the many ways we go about trying to build a life with someone. In many ways, I feel like it picks up where LONDON left off- I worked so hard on this book, and I can’t wait for it to come out.

5) Really looking forward to The Divorce Party. So is it true that you lost LONDON on your computer and had to start from scratch?
Thank you so much! I am really looking forward to The Divorce Party as well…only a few months from now, it will be on the shelves. As for the second part of your question, It is true that I lost the first version of LONDON. I spilled water on my computer–and fried the motherboard. Not a great day, to say the least.

But I went to the beach that weekend, and ended up watching fireworks, and realized that the book was supposed to start there: with a brother and sister, watching fireworks. I believed it so deeply in my gut that I ended up believing I was supposed to lose the first version of LONDON. And, in a happy ending, several months later, I found a hardware expert who was able to recover most of what I lost. But by then, I was invested in my new project. The only piece of the first version of LONDON that remained in the novel you have read was those first few pages when Emmy leaves Matt in the hotel room.

londonisthebestcityinamerica.jpg 6) The brother/sister relationship was fascinating in LONDON, and I have heard readers say they thought it was almost as if Emmy had a crush on her brother Josh? Do you go along with that idea?
I can see why people say that – because she certainly sees him with rose-colored glasses. But, I don’t think Emmy has a crush on Josh. He is bigger-than-life to her-as many big brothers are to their younger sisters – but I think their connection feels heightened because we are meeting them at a very critical point: for the first time, Emmy is taking care of Josh as opposed to the other way around. This is a tricky new element to their dynamic.

7) What do your family and friends think of you being a writer? Did you ever meet any resistance to your writing ambitions?
Everyone is on board, thankfully. At the beginning though, I did meet some resistance – because no one knew how I was going to make a living. But, thankfully, that has worked out, and I am able to write full-time. Now, my family and friends are some of my best readers. Especially my dad who has such a sharp eye. He is very helpful to me.

8 ) Do you/your publisher see your books as chick lit? I’ve always thought of LONDON as a modern Great Gatsby. Or do you find categorisation a bit pointless?
I don’t usually like categories, but if I can take yours, I am in. 8) I love the idea that London is a modern day Great Gatsby. You are the second person to say that to me. (Which moves you and him to the very top of my list of favorite people!)

I can also see why someone would say my first book is chick-lit – a young woman on the cusp of a life decision is often categorized that way – but my second book really does not fall into that category. The Divorce Party has two narrators, one of whom is 58 years old, the other of whom is 30. Maybe they’ll call it hen-lit, who knows?

I just think it is notable that men writing fiction don’t come up against these categories in the same way…it makes it hard to write about relationships and domestic battles in a way that allows women to be taken seriously.

londoncover.jpg 9) Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
It is truly a test of endurance, especially with novel writing. So much of the battle is figuring out ways to keep showing up. Prove to yourself that you take your writing seriously. Go to an MFA program, apply to a writers’ conference, get up at 4 a.m. two mornings a week to write while your family sleeps. No excuses. The more seriously you take your work, the better chance you have of continuing.

10) What was your best Valentine’s Day?
I am not a huge Valentine’s Day girl – I was forced to kind of rethink the whole thing when a professor of mine in college gave a lecture about the falsity of Valentine’s Day. Instead, he said, he did something AMAZING for his wife everyday of February besides Valentine’s Day. Since then, that’s what he’s got me wanting: I want my boyfriend to follow suit, and surprise me with a getaway on February 1st, and bake cookies sometime around the 15th. Oh well, at least I learned something in college! As for one of my fondest memories of Valentine’s Day – pre-professor – it was toward the end of High School. We had just started to drive, and my boyfriend at the time and I drove his car an hour away to this great place to hear music in New Jersey called Maxwells. We probably could have driven anywhere and I would have been thrilled, but Maxwells is a perfect place to hear your favorite band play. I still like to go there.

11) Which five books should we dash off and read ?
Five books I love (in the spirit of Valentine’s Day):

Feast of Love by Charles Baxter
The Lost Legends of New Jersey by Frederick Reiken
The Girls Guide To Hunting and Fishing
by Melissa Bank
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Thanks so much, Laura. It’s been great fun! And for anyone on the cusp of purchasing London is the Best City in America – it was by far my favourite read of 2007 and a story which has stayed with me ever since. It’s a gorgeous, thoughtful account of love and loss. Go buy it.

N.B. I’m sure the lovely Reese Witherspoon will do Emmy justice in the film version 😉

For a brilliant video of Laura reading from LONDON and answering questions about the book, as part of the Authors@Google series, click here. Well worth watching.

For more details about Laura click here.

In this article in The New York Times Laura writes about identity theft and Big Sur.

15 comments on “Interview with the fabulous Laura Dave

  1. Jackie
    February 13, 2008

    I read “London” last year and enjoyed it. I had a very different idea of what the book was going to be like and was pleasantly surprised at how different it was. “The Divorce Party” sounds like it’s gonna be good, too.
    Ms. Dave must be a very pleasant person from the way she is in the interview. The detail about playing the same song repeatedly was intriguing, especially as I’ve done that with paintings. Though books take longer to do than paintings, I’m sure. I’m glad that she has fulfilled her childhood dream of becoming a writer, what a terrific feeling that is.

  2. rosyb
    February 13, 2008

    I like the idea of surrounding oneself with all these people one trusts to negotiate film deals….ummm *daydreams*…sorry drifted off there for a moment.

    Nice interview. I wonder, Lisa, if you could tell us a bit more about the London book – or are you going to review it?

    I can’t believe all these VL parallels building up – Ryan Adams, and this is the second time I’ve heard Charles Baxter mentioned as a favourite valentine’s read (in fact is Laura Dave secretly Scott Pack?). I know nothing about Charles Baxter. Anyone want to tell me more.

    Rosy, from the depths of her ignorance.

  3. sequinonsea
    February 13, 2008

    Maybe Jackie and I could do a joint review?

    “I just think it is notable that men writing fiction don’t come up against these categories in the same way…it makes it hard to write about relationships and domestic battles in a way that allows women to be taken seriously.”

    This is such a good point. We must talk about this, Rosy, in our upcoming feminist literature feature.

    Right, I must dash. Thanks to Laura again for being such a great interviewee.

  4. Emily
    February 13, 2008

    I swear this blog will bankrupt me – I really want to read “London…” now! Great interview.

  5. sequinonsea
    February 13, 2008

    🙂 Emily, I swear you won’t be disappointed. I thought it was outstanding. I read it in a day – couldn’t put it down.

  6. Jackie
    February 13, 2008

    Sure, I’d like to do a joint review with you, Lisa. First, I need to get the book from the library again, but once I do, I’m open to the idea.

  7. ariadne
    February 13, 2008

    Luisa, if you are reading this, you see there is life after spilling liquids on computers!

  8. Emily
    February 14, 2008

    Ahh, the power of 1-click…”London” is now resting on the arm of my sofa waiting for me to finish the wonderful Paris Review Interviews that Trilby reviewed recently. 🙂

  9. sequinonsea
    February 14, 2008

    Oh excellent! Good purchase 🙂

  10. Nik
    February 14, 2008

    Great interview, folks!

    Nik

  11. Leena
    February 14, 2008

    What a brilliant interview. I *must* read ‘London…’ too, now… and I’m sold on the new novel as well. Laura Dave does sound like a lovely person – great taste in books too… 😉

    Signed, The Austenite Fox

  12. Pingback: The Divorce Party by Laura Dave « Vulpes Libris

  13. Pingback: Interview with Trevor Byrne, author of Ghosts and Lightning « Vulpes Libris

  14. Pingback: The First Husband by Laura Dave « Vulpes Libris

  15. Pingback: How to Write a Novel in a Weekend | Popular Question & Answer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2008 by in Entries by Lisa, Interviews: authors and tagged , , .

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
