Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

May We Be Forgiven

May We Be ForgivenMay We Be Forgiven, A. M. Homes’s Women’s Prize for Fiction-winning sixth novel, opens with a horrific car crash, an affair, a murder, and a divorce. I won’t lie: by page 25 I was wondering how much more I could take. However, it settled down into a blackly comic personal journey for our protagonist, Harry Silver, a Nixon scholar who is left in charge of his brother’s house and children after the extraordinary events of the opening pages.

Over the course of a year Silver has to figure out how to manage two precocious pre-teens at prestigious boarding schools, a dog, a cat, a murderer-brother in secure hospital accommodation, and a mother in a home who has undergone some radical new therapy and has swiftly gone from being bedbound to remarried. He also has his own personal demons to conquer, not least his sudden compulsion for meeting strange women for lunch and sex. He also has a stroke, gets involved in a sting to trap an Israeli terrorist, and has to organise a Bar Mitzvah in a small African village named for his nephew, Nate. Then, if that wasn’t enough, he is entrusted with some hitherto unseen documents to do with his muse, Richard Nixon.

Nixon is an appropriate hero for Silver. Speaking to his assistant on the project, he explains:

“I am most interested in his personality and the ways in which his actions and reactions were of a particular era and culture – the era that built and defined the American Dream…he resigned when he was sixty years old, signalling the end of an era and perhaps the unacknowledged death of the dream, though some people feel it has just gone underground.”

In all the descriptions of this book that I have read I have found references to the distortion, or the subversion, of the American Dream, and it’s true: at the beginning of the novel we see a family go from Mom, Dad, and Two Kids to destruction within pages. Looking at it in that way, the American Dream has died along with several characters and two marriages. But if the American Dream is about life being “better and richer and fuller for everyone” (according to James Truslow Adams, who coined the phrase in 1931), then Harry Silver fulfils every quota of that, albeit in the most unconventional ways. At the end of the book we find ourselves only hopeful for his future; and we find him feeling much the same.

This book threw me. I thought I knew what was coming. Or if not what, exactly, then I thought I had a good idea of the sort of thing that awaited me. After I finished it I thought, briefly, that I was unsatisfied with the ending: what I had anticipated didn’t appear. On further reflection, though, the ending was precisely right. Was everything explained? No. Were some very odd events never properly tied up? Sure. But that’s life, isn’t it? And above all else, it seems to me that May We Be Forgiven is about life, what it can throw at you, and what you might well be capable of even if last year you never would have believed where you’ve ended up. What I, ultimately, took from it is this: life can be weird. But it’s not hopeless.

I’d heard of Homes before now, of course, but I had never read anything by her. And the best bit about discovering such a fantastic writer with her sixth novel? I have the previous five (not to mention short stories and a memoir) to immediately go and get my hands on. Consider me fully signed up to the A. M. Homes fanclub.

A. M. Homes, May We Be Forgiven (Granta Books: London, 2012), Paperback, ISBN 9781847083234, £8.99

9 comments on “May We Be Forgiven

  1. I personally thought this book was far too long but it is admirably ambitious all the same.

  2. rosyb
    July 5, 2013

    This sounds really interesting and you’ve tickled my interest. Although I have to say the quote puts me off a bit as it sounds so “on the nose” as they say with the character setting out the treatise so baldly. Maybe I’ll dip into the first few pages and have a see….

  3. theotherkirsty
    July 5, 2013

    Rosy, I think context is key with this one. I totally get what you mean about the quote as it stands by itself, but mixed in with all the other happenings in the book, it doesn’t bonk you on the head quite so much. As A Little Blog… says above, it *is* a long book, so it’s camouflaged well! The length didn’t bother me, personally, but it is a bit of a commitment.

  4. Sharonrob
    July 5, 2013

    I’ve just read a sample. Definitely one for my wish list; it’s certainly grim, but the writing is good enough to make me want more. There’s a mordant humour alongside all the bleak stuff and although the characters are an acquired taste, I want to know what comes next.

    Thanks for a readable, entertaining review btw.

  5. theotherkirsty
    July 5, 2013

    Thanks Sharonrob! I hope you enjoy the book.

  6. John Self
    July 5, 2013

    Terrific book and a great review. I had issues with the last parts of the book, but overall I thought it really impressive. I’d read one of Homes’ novels before this, but I’ve started snapping up her back catalogue too now.

  7. Martine Frampton
    July 5, 2013

    Having read some Philip Roth who has an enduring interest in the American Dream it would be very interesting to read about it from an alternative point of view. Thanks for this interesting review, I had not really looked that close at this book since I had not heard of the author.

  8. Jackie
    July 5, 2013

    Oh my, this is an unusual book, isn’t it? And I can’t imagine anyone being a Nixon scholar, but that’s just me. I didn’t like the man. I like how you take a positive message from the book, despite all the grimness. And you’ve left me curious about bot the book and the author.

  9. Daisy
    July 26, 2013

    The book starts well-ish, dark and sort of funny, and then it takes a turn into a weird cosy territory where Silver comes out shining. I found this book increasingly bizarre as it shed its cynicism and as Silver shelled out more and more money on everyone. I finished feeling like the message seems to be: if you have money to spend on people and luxury travel to far flung places you will end up happy. Am I missing something?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 887 other followers

