Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Wetware failure notice:

I know there are thousands of you out there eagerly anticipating my review of a book about cancer. I bet you woke up this morning, punched the air triumphantly and cried, “Yesss! Today’s the day!”

I am therefore very sorry to have to report that you’re going to have to wait, because of a technical hitch. Well not so much a technical hitch, more human error if we’re being quite honest.  You see, the review – which I promise you is  four-fifths written and only needs polishing up a bit – is sitting on my laptop at home, twelve miles away (as the gull flies). This is because I forgot to upload it this morning. I could have lied and told you that the technology failed – but my hair would fall our and I’d break out in spots (I know that’s what happens when you lie because my mother said so many times …), so I offer you the unvarnished truth. I forgot to hit ‘Send’.

All of which means that you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for the review, or possibly only until this evening, if a fit of enthusiasm overwhelms me, which is profoundly unlikely on a Friday.

In the meantime, here is a photograph of my dog, who loves me even though I am an idiot:

About Moira

If you really want to know more about me, click on my name in the sidebar!

11 comments on “Wetware failure notice:

  1. Kate Lace
    September 14, 2012

    It’s a close call but that picture is very cute so you’re forgiven.

  2. annebrooke
    September 14, 2012

    Heck, even I think it’s cute, and I don’t even like dogs … Have I been swopped for someone nice?!? …

  3. kirstyjane
    September 14, 2012

    Hello doggie! Hello! Aren’t you handsome! Aren’t you just such a handsome little soul, with little ears, yes, and a nose and the little feets and…

    Wait, what was the point, again?

  4. Alan Cleaver
    September 14, 2012

    Next time I miss a deadline I’m going to just file a picture of my dog and see if I get away with it!

  5. Moira
    September 14, 2012

    It’s worth a try Alan … Seems to be working nicely at the moment.

  6. Hilary
    September 14, 2012

    How adorable – please may I borrow him next time I’m late with a review?

  7. Moira
    September 14, 2012

    Certainly. He’s anybody’s for a couple of gravy bones and a lick of the custard bowl.

  8. kirstyjane
    September 14, 2012

    *sneaks off stage left with Jack-Russell-shaped lump under cardigan*

  9. Lisa
    September 14, 2012

    Oh my gosh, would you look at its little face? And I’m loving the baby blue collar. Cute overload.

  10. Jackie
    September 14, 2012

    *squeeeee*

  11. Jackie
    September 16, 2012

    Ben looks kind of sad in that pic. Hope he got some treats & cuddles afterwards.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 887 other followers

