Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe? by Hazel Osmond

Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe begins with the heroine having a brilliant idea, which gets Hazel Osmond’s warm, exuberant and funny debut novel off to a great start. My habit is to try hard not to give away beginnings, so I won’t tell you what that idea is, even if I’m a bad, spoilerific person about endings. This is a romantic comedy: it’s got a happy ending, OK? The hero and the heroine do live happily ever after, but only at the end of a journey full of twists and turns, with sadness and disaster as well as laughter, joy and utterly wish-fulfilling sex.

When I picked up this novel, I saw a personal warning sign on the cover. Now, I refuse to rank Heathcliff among romantic heros – among terrifying sociopaths, yes. How many books do I want to read about terrifying sociopaths? Just the one, I think. But there on the cover is the hero, ‘Jack Wolfe – Heathcliff in a suit’. What does that foretell? That he’s strong, Northern and wildly charismatic? That’s Heathcliff-lite as far as I’m concerned. However, he does make good on that promise by behaving, in my book (The Handbook for Old Feminist Bats), remarkably badly on a number of occasions – so badly that a tiny niggle I have with this entertaining book is – finally, how can there be any way back from what he has done? I’m hoping that, as it also says on the cover ‘He’s tall, dark and very, very wicked’, this is not a spoiler. So – for once the Heathcliff comparison will serve. And he *is* strong, Northern, wildly charismatic and with a reputation and a Past.

Ellie Somerset is kind, beautiful, talented, scruffy, and in a rut in her professional and personal life. The setting for the novel is the City of London and the world of advertising: Ellie is a copywriter, working with designer Lesley as a creative team, producing fantastic ideas, but hiding them under a pretty large bushel. The partnership where she works is marking time, too, living on a shelf-full of past awards. The arrival of Jack Wolfe, with his reputation for taking on ad agencies that are treading water and turning things round with extreme prejudice, means that both the firm, and Ellie, must brace themselves. Jack recognises Ellie’s intelligence and talent, but finds himself strongly drawn to her beauty and personality too. How hard will it be for him to keep to his rule not to mix relationships with business? I’d better not say ….

For me, there are several features that power this energetic novel along. Hazel Osmond knows this world of advertising well, and pulls this reader into it in a convincing way. We find out what makes people get up in the morning to do this job – it’s an exciting and creative life, but one that has its mundane passages as well as the adrenalin rush of success. She has a gift for satire too – several of the characters in the book (typically, those in Jack Wolfe’s sights) are hilariously pretentious.

I enjoyed the powers of description – I could picture the working environment, the city streets and the characters’ homes. At one point, Jack looks out of his new office window at the City of London skyline, and reflects on the attraction of the old and new, skyscrapers and spires jostling together, which I loved because it chimed so closely with my own reaction to it. (Wish it had been a City skyline silhouetted on that cover, by the way – I just love The Gherkin). It’s funny, too, where it needs to be (and not where it shouldn’t be) – scintillating with one-liners and zingers, and the conversations between characters are warm and witty. But it’s not a case of laughs on every page – the changes of tone are well judged, for there are also passages of seriousness, sadness and pathos.

It can be very, very sensual too – the story of two people who are wildly attracted to one another. As the chemistry between them is such a strong force, there is a sense in which these two vibrant people cut a swathe through the other characters, whose light tends to burn rather dim in comparison. Ellie’s other love interests, past and potential, ultimately had so little of what it takes that I almost felt sorry for them. There are characters to love, though, in particular another pair of lovers, whose story is handled with empathy and care – and I’d have liked even more of it – and a loveable, dotty great-aunt who’s ‘dea-ex-machina’. Relationships in the workplace make a fraught subject, it must take courage to tackle it and needs skill and empathy to make it work, all of which are on display here in abundance. Although I had to get past Mr Wolfe’s Heathcliffean tendencies, and the mad inadvisability of this, or any, big boss mixing relationship and work from a position of power, I found the vitality and warmth of Ellie’s spirit managed to carry me through with only a modicum of urging her to contact the Citizens Advice Bureau. This is thanks to the author’s ability to convince me of the strength of character and prevailing good qualities of her hero and heroine – so that in the end each of them (and I as a reader) can see past what they do to who they are.

Altogether, this is a funny, sexy, heart-warming debut. Hazel Osmond is a fresh voice in romantic fiction, and I’m looking forward to reading more good things from this author.

Hazel Osmond: Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe? Quercus, 2011. 490pp
ISBN 13: 9781849164184

11 comments on “Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe? by Hazel Osmond

  1. Anne Brooke
    May 2, 2011

    I shall look forward to reading this one on my hols, thanks, Hilary! And all the more so for being a Heathcliff fan :)

    Anne
    xxx

  2. Jackie
    May 2, 2011

    I wonder if his name is also meant to remind the reader of “the big bad wolf” of fairy tales?
    This one does sound good, with maybe more seriousness than many of this type of book. I like the cover, too.

  3. elizabethashworth
    May 2, 2011

    I’ve already read this book and agree with Hilary’s review. It’s a romantic story, but it has a depth that’s sometimes missing in chicklit novels. And yes, Jackie, I think there is an element of the fairy tale ‘big bad wolf’ – although no-one gets eaten.

  4. Moira
    May 3, 2011

    Interesting-sounding debut … even if I DO agree with Hilary about Heathcliff. (Look on the bright side H, at least they didn’t put an ‘e’ on the end …

    Even as a fully paid up member of the Society of Cantankerous Old Bats (that’s SCOB to you) I think I might enjoy this – me and my well-known weakness for (a) northern types and (b) tricky customers..

  5. Hilary
    May 3, 2011

    TBH, I did mentally give it a gold star for no ‘-e’, Moira. That’s quite an achievement in this day and age.

    I’m glad you’re tempted – if them’s your weaknesses, you’re in for a treat!

  6. Pingback: Quercus Publicity 3/5/11 | Quercus Books

  7. Nikki
    May 8, 2011

    Really want to read this now. Sounds like a fab debut. I mostly want to meet this dotty aunt!

  8. annebrooke
    May 14, 2011

    Oo-err, have just finished reading this as part of my holiday treats. Um, must say I thought it was rather mediocre and has been done many times before, actually, yikes! ==:O And I thought Jack was an emotional bully and Ellie a wimp. I was really quite cross about it!!

    Anne
    xxx

  9. KimTheBookWorm
    May 18, 2011

    Hi, I’m just reading this book at the moment and am really enjoying it so far. It’s so easy to read, flows really well and I’m really into the characters already. Am loving it. And agree with the comments about the cover, it’s gorgeous – purple and sparkle – two of my most favourite things – what more can you ask for?
    Kim
    xxx

  10. Pingback: Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe by Hazel Osmond « Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: The First Time I Saw Your Face, by Hazel Osmond « Vulpes Libris

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2011 by in Entries by Hilary, Fiction: 21st Century, Fiction: romance, Happy Reads and tagged , , , .

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,008 other followers

