Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Right Ho, Jeeves – by P G Wodehouse

Vulpes Libris is delighted to welcome yet another new voice to the site – that of Sharon Robinson – who has just discovered P G Wodehouse, the lucky woman …

—o—

Right Ho This was the first Wodehouse book I’d read and if I’m honest, my expectations weren’t high.

My reading group had chosen it for December and even while I voted for it, I wondered why. My knowledge and interest in Bertie Wooster’s strata of society wasn’t great, at least outside the pages of a ‘serious’ novel, by a ‘serious’ writer, for example Evelyn Waugh.  I was only vaguely aware of the TV adaptation and my inner voice was at its most strident before I’d even picked the book up.

‘What did you want to do that for, you daffy mare? What on earth do you think an upper-class twerp like Bertie Wooster has to say to the likes of you? Get ye back to Dickens!’

As it turned out, I started reading Right Ho, Jeeves in the aftermath of a domestic disaster, which left me feeling very low. Wodehouse is famous for cheering the unhappy and he certainly did the trick for me. I became completely involved with Bertie, his friends, and his terrifying relations, especially his aunts. I’ve got aunts and I am an aunt, so I could identify, both with Bertie’s fear of them and their frustration with him. Bertie and I aren’t from completely different planets after all.

I love Jeeves’ voice and his dry intelligence, but I found that my response to it, and the character of Jeeves generally, was less sanguine than it might be were I one of Wodehouse’s more privileged readers. Jeeves is more intelligent and worldly than his employer because he has to be. His position depends on him being clever, sensitive and good with the maintenance of a gentleman’s wardrobe. His job, his comfortable lifestyle and his membership of a club for gentlemen’s gentlemen depend on his considerable merits, not on whether Bertie is a good egg.

That said, the fact that Jeeves does well through his merits is a good thing. It’s one of the things that marks him out from his employer, who appears to prosper through circumstance rather than his own efforts. However, there’s nothing intrinsically bad about Bertie either. He may be pampered, indolent and silly, but he is also generous, big-hearted and never mean-spirited. His freedom and privacy are regularly invaded by the bossy, insensitive and dysfunctional and he is often called on to sort out his friends and rescue them from the consequences of their feeble-mindedness. He very rarely carps and complains, except to Jeeves, who invariably comes to his rescue.

Bertie’s attempts to help his various friends, relations and connections are the source of much humour. Right Ho, Jeeves contains a scene at a school prize-giving, involving the ridiculous, newt-fixated Gussie Fink-Nottle, which is so funny it can’t be described properly, it has to be read. Possibly funnier still, is Jeeves’ description of it later to his employer. Jeeves’ wry and immaculate Standard Received English voice is possibly at its driest here – more than in the rest of the novel.

Since Right Ho, Jeeves, I’ve read two books of Jeeves and Wooster short stories, a Blandings Castle book and a stand-alone novel, Piccadilly Jim. Thus far, none of them touch Right Ho, Jeeves for sheer comedy and warmth. Wodehouse is not a revolutionary writer; he is an insider, poking affectionate fun at a system he knew intimately. However, expecting him to be otherwise is to miss the point entirely; he offers us a view of a world that most of us will never have any meaningful contact with and fills it with characters we want to know and to care about.

—o—

There are many editions of Right Ho, Jeeves available – both new and secondhand – but the cover shown is that of:

Arrow Books Ltd.  2008. ISBN: 978-0099513742.  256pp.

8 comments on “Right Ho, Jeeves – by P G Wodehouse

  1. EmmaB
    January 14, 2009

    I remember this one and poor old Gussie Fink-Nottle!

    There’s also a short story where Bertie has to address a girls’ school which is extremely funny. And another novel involving a cow creamer I think…they do merge together after a bit (the title don’t help to make them stick in the mind either). I think part of what makes them so funny are the very intricate plots and Bertie’s use of language as narrator…that said, they are the sort of books where you know you are always going to get more of the same, and I’ve only read a fraction of PG’s output.

  2. mohan kumar
    January 14, 2009

    I am a great fan of P.G Woodhouse and Jeeves series. I am of the opinion present generation negelect him. I have not come across any funnier book than Jeeves series. Try also Richard Gordon and Henry Cecil( doctor and lawyer series)

  3. kirstyjane
    January 14, 2009

    Thanks for a lovely story of discovery! I love Wodehouse! His language is exquisite.

  4. Jackie
    January 14, 2009

    Nice review & dissection of the characters, which I never thought about doing. I recall first reading Wodehouse & being delighted to find such humor. His books are among the funniest things I’ve ever read, I would laugh till tears came. So it’s nice to see other enjoy Wodehouse too.

  5. Moira
    January 14, 2009

    Dear old Gussie and his newts … I’d forgotten about him.

    Wodehouse is my ultimate comfort read – and I enjoy the Jeeves and Wooster stories more than all the others. You can absolutely guarantee that even if I’m in the depths of depression, Wodehouse will make me smile.

    He was possessed of that sort of sleepy, laid-back intelligence that takes you by surprise … You’re rattling through one of his stories, having a jolly good time, and then suddenly – without any warning – you become aware of the sharp intellect behind the amiable facade.

    He was also a very observant man … the behaviour patterns – although exaggerated for comic effect – are absolutely spot on.

  6. Nikki
    January 14, 2009

    Thanks to the lovely Hugh Laurie, I’m already a Jeeves & Wooster fan. I’ve always thought I should read the books, but I had a similar aversion. Fry and Laurie made the show for me, I was sure that without them the books would just be irritating. But I think now I’ll definitely have to try them! Oh dear, another one for the To-Read pile….

  7. arshat
    March 16, 2009

    thanks for the review.. appreciate it :)

  8. Pingback: Book Review: #3 – Right Ho, Jeeves, by PG Wodehouse (audio) « Let's eat, Grandpa! Let's eat Grandpa! (Punctuation saves lives.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2009 by in Fiction: humour and tagged , , , , .

Categories

Archive

Editorial Policy

The views expressed in the articles and reviews on Vulpes Libris are those of the authors, and not of Vulpes Libris itself.

Quoting from Vulpes Libris

You are very welcome to quote up to 100 words from any article posted on Vulpes Libris - as long as you quote accurately, give us due credit and link back to the original post. If you would like to quote MORE than 100 words, please ask us first via the email address in the Contact details.

Acknowledgment

  • (The header image is from Aesop's Fables, illustrated by Francis Barlow (1666), and appears courtesy of the Digital and Multimedia Center at the Michigan State University Libraries.)
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 929 other followers

